jump to navigation

Weightlifting & Rings December 2, 2007

Posted by Jacob Sondergaard in Todays Workout.
trackback

Have been a while ago since I have been doing updates in the BLOG. Thanks Rif for the push 😀 A lot of stuff has been happening, and I will sum up the most important ones. First and foremost, of course I have been training a lot, actually a lot more structured than I usually do.   

Weightlifting

 I have teamed up with a friend who is a lot into weightlifting. His background is national level competition, and he coaches young and upcoming talents. We have made a deal, that I teach him about fighting, and he gives me skills in weightlifting. I have always admired weightlifters due to their explosiveness and strength, and I find it necessary for a Strength & Conditioning Coach to have the awareness and knowledge about this kind of training. My philosophy in training is that I will never make my athletes do things I haven’t tried on myself first. I want to know how it feels when you do the squat, the kettlebell highpull, the ring-dip, interval work, 2-hands-anyhow and the list continues. Besides that I also have the philosophy, that if you want to learn new skills you need to go full immersion. The last 3 weeks I have had 3 sessions of 90 minutes pr. week with one-on-one teaching. This is the way to learn it from the ground up. It has been totally deconstruction of my techniques in the snatch, clean & jerk, back- and frontsquat 😀 A session looks something like this: Warmup 

  • My own combo of Z-health and M2
  • Overhead squats
  • Bottom position press behind the neck

Workout 

  • Snatch from the hips 
  • Hang Cleans
  • Pushpress
  • Split-press
  • Front squats
  • Back squats

In combination with this there are a lot of assistance exercise, for which I don’t know the english term. My progress is quite well thanks to the extensive coaching and the training background I have. Kettlebelltraining, bodyweight exercises (one-arm pushups, pistols), ropes, rings etc. is just a fantastic way to give the kind of physique and flexibility i.e. in the hips you need. I have found out that my legs is the weakest part in my body compared to the rest of it. My torsional strength is as good as it gets, but the quads need some more danish dynamite. Great to find something to work on to take the physical skills to another level.  The loading is quite low all the time, mostly only the weight of the barbell + 10 kg, all technique.The squatting is a bit heavier and ass to the grass all the time. Last squat session was like this

  •   70 kg x 8 rep x 2-3
  • 100 kg x 5 rep x 2
  • 110 kg x 3 rep x 3
  • 120 kg x 2 rep x 2
  • 125 kg x 1 rep x 1 (PR)

I don’t think it will take long before this goes through the roof. I have never been spending that much time on the squat, rather the deadlift and other pulling motions. Great to open up a new book of skills 🙂   

 

Rings  Muscle-Up The rings have been irritating me for a long time, because I haven’t been able to do the muscle-up. I can do them in a pullup bar, but the rings have just seamed to resist. Finally a week ago one of my friends made one, and then I just had to do one as well. Yeeeeeiihaaaaaaa, finally I got it. 😀 Now I can do 3 in row, and did 22 within 20 minutes in friday.This is the coolest upper-body exercise ever – Choice of Tarzan. It creates a great deal of stress in the muscles around the elbow-joints, so you need to be aware not to overdo it. After performing the muscle-up I have been wondering why I haven’t been able to do it before. I think that I have had the strength the last 3 years to do it, the thing I have done wrong was that I tried to dip it before I rolled the shoulders into it. That made the entire difference.   More updates will follow containing Track Running & Climbing (bouldering) 😀

Comments»

1. mark reifkind - December 4, 2007

You’re welcome man and thanks for the update. wow you have been busy. this will be a very interesting experiment. I love weightlifting and always wished I had had the joint integrity to really train it hard.
on the muscle ups on rings, are you starting with a false grip on the ring? that can make all the difference.

2. Franz Snideman - December 5, 2007

Great job on the muscle ups! Very challenging lift for sure! Glad to see you blogging again!

3. Franz Snideman - December 5, 2007

Oh…and by the way…..I highly respect your training philosophy of not teaching exercises to your clients that you yourself haven’t mastered. I have always gone by the same philosophy and think it is the RIGHT and CORRECT thing to do!

Rock on!

4. Jacob Sondergaard - December 7, 2007

Mark 😀
Yeah, the weightlifting approach suits me well. Can’t wait until we start launching additional weights on the barbell. Right now it is all technique in the olympic lifts. I neeeeeed strength in my legs, especially the quads 🙂
Regarding the muscle-ups I do use the false grip, impossible for me right now without, LOL. How long time where you able to hold the ironcross, and how many consecutive muscle-ups where you able to perform. Rings Rocks 😀

Franz: Thanks man :-), MU is so cool. Have you ever practiced it?
Great to hear that we share the same mentality – practice what you preach.
Rock on master…


Leave a comment